Geeks and Freaks–and Coffee Table Reveal

30 Aug

While sitting in front of the computer this morning, Jamally started to sing. Then he got up and did a little dance.

“I’m a nerd, and I love it,” he sang.

He proudly walked up to me in the kitchen to show me he’d downloaded a new podcast. It’s a podcast discussing the release of Madden 12.

Yes, a podcast about a football video game. For reals.

“They are saying the grass looks grassier in this version!” Jamally exclaimed.

“This is the crap you’re shutting me out with your headphones?” I remarked.

“I’m a nerd, and I love it,” he sing-songed back to me.

I rolled my eyes, sighed and then looked down.

I realized I couldn’t say much. I am, after all, sporting these today:

P1000748

What’s that? You spotted our refinished coffee table?

You’re correct!

After 454, 645, 656 hours re-finishing the thing, it’s finally done. Except for the hardware.

Here’s the before:

 

Here’s the After:

P1000750

P1000749

P1000751

I sanded down the wood, followed by using Minwax in Mahogany, followed by two coats of polyurethane. And many hours of drying time.

Is it the most original project in the world? No.

But I’m proud that I came up with an idea, followed through and was satisfied with the outcome.

Even better, I can now hide Jamally’s iPod inside the trunk. And maybe my socks, too.

7 Responses to “Geeks and Freaks–and Coffee Table Reveal”

  1. Leanne August 30, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    Cathy you did an amazing job! I love it. You should be proud of yourself. I have an old barn stool that I found at a garage sale that I intended to re-finish. However, I got as far as half-ass stripping it and gave up. That part alone was more work than I anticipated. You give me inspiration to complete that mission. Thank-you!

    Leanne

    PS. Is your house always that tidy??

    • Cat's Cove Writing Services August 31, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

      Thanks, Leanne! Re-finishing a project does bring a lot of satisfaction. And no, my house is not always that tidy! Just ask my laundry room and bathroom!

  2. Amie August 30, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Rob talks the same way about the new NHL game every year… ‘but in NHL11 you can see their reflections on the ice!’ I was recently informed that the next version will allow you to carry over your player you have built. I guess that’s kinda a big deal.

    PS LOVE the coffee table! Looks expensive!

  3. Madeline September 1, 2011 at 6:57 am #

    Great job!!! You will love that piece for the rest of your life!

  4. Lee-Anne September 16, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    The final product looks really great Cathy! I prefer the darker colour of wood, it really suits your room! Good Job!!!

  5. Stephanie Gray September 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Nice table, dude!

Leave a Reply

