We’re Parents!

27 Sep

Jamally and I are very excited to announce – we’re parents!

Well, actually, we’re guardians. To a 15-year-old teenager.

Last week we offered to board a teenaged girl who was moving to Perth to complete her last two years of high school.

It was a pretty easy decision to do so, and over the weekend we got her room prepared and bought groceries that didn’t include oatmeal or egg whites. Think: juice boxes, granola bars and cookies. Jamally is so happy to have snack food back in the house again!

She moved in on Sunday and so far, so good. She is quiet and polite, and we just hope she’ll laugh at our jokes.

From what we’ve seen on television, if we ever need to discuss a serious topic with our new guardian child, we should break out into song:

 

Parents

 

 

Bringing her in has really got me thinking back to my high school days and what it was like to be 15 again – which is half a lifetime ago!

Remember what was on your mind as a teenager?

– Ensuring you don’t fight with your parents, siblings, friends and boyfriend

– Hoping for a spare that day

– Making plans for a party for the upcoming weekend

– Looking for a job that works with your school and sports schedule

– Eating as much as you can, because you’re always hungry

 

Now compare that to being 29 and three-quarters:

– Ensuring you don’t fight with your parents, siblings, friends and husband

– Hoping to be let off work early that day

– Making plans to clean out basement/closet/baseboards/car for this upcoming weekend

– Looking for a job that covers your financial obligations

– Trying not to eat as much as you can, because you’re really not always that hungry.

 

Jamally and I are also realizing we’re actually quite far removed from high school. *sigh*

 

Today’s Question: What did you love about being a teenager?

 

When I first posted today’s posting, you didn’t think I meant….

 

No! Not yet.

4 Responses to “We’re Parents!”

  1. Kristine Simpson September 27, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    You guys are doing such a kind and honourable thing!

    I remember when I was a teenager, the only thing on my little nerdy mind, was how can I get a better mark so I can make it to University and make my parents proud… That and boys haha!

    I am excited to hear your stories with your new “daughter”. Through the little time I have been following your blog, I know you guys will make great boarding parents.

  2. Madeline September 27, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    sounds like a great kid!! She must have wonderful parents. 🙂 And yes, she will laugh at your jokes. Your humour is very similar to her parents and she laughs with them (or perhaps at them.)

    What did I like about being a teenager? sports, dances, LOVED the dances! driving my parents Toyota, Yep, a toyota! Go figure! And……seeing Steve Yzerman in the hall every day.

  3. Lee-Anne September 28, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Yep…I thought for sure that you were preggers when I read the blog title! It’s such a nice thing that you two are doing! I hope everything goes smooth!!! Good Luck!!!

Leave a Reply

