Family Thanksgiving Game

11 Oct

Hello, blogland!

I know, it’s been way too long, but let me explain.

My alarm didn’t go off. My dog ate my homework. Traffic was terrible.

It’s been a whirlwind couple of weeks. With a death in the family followed by a week-long bout of pinched nerves in both my leg and foot, sitting down in front of a computer outside of work wasn’t in the cards.

The pinched nerves felt like I had growing pains, and not the Kirk Cameron kind.

Three chiropractor treatments later, it’s a lot better, but walking for longer than 30 minutes brings back the pain. No exercise makes Cathy go something, something….

Go crazy?

Don’t mind if I do!

Apparently taking a week of blogging leaves me scatter brained!

This weekend was the Canadian Thanksgiving and with that, our family got together to celebrate Sunday evening.

Earlier that morning in Church, in between praying and texting (kidding?), I thought of a game we could play at Thanksgiving Dinner.

Each person writes down what they’re thankful for, and we put the answers into a hat. My dad pulls one answer out, reads it to the table and we tried to guess who wrote it down. Fun, right?!

Before we headed out to my parents’ place, I tried explaining this to Jamally and his sister, who came down for the dinner.

Their response? Crickets. But I knew my family would be game and I also knew majority rules.

As expected, my family was all over it, and here’s a sampling of the responses:

“The sun, moon and ice cream” (my brother-in-law)

“For my wonderful husband” (that wasn’t mine)

“For a free and peaceful country” (my seven-year-old niece)

“For all the water available to drink” (My pregnant sister wrote this and explained: it’s the only thing I can drink! I cheers to that)

“For waxed dental floss” (Jamally)

“That the James’ agreed to play this game” (Mine)

It was a lot of fun and I’m sure it will become a Thanksgiving tradition. Whether the James’ like it or not.

Today’s Question: What is your Thanksgiving Tradition?

Leave a Reply

