Picking out a Birthday Present

17 Oct

Are you serious?! Really?! Wow, I can’t believe it’s only 11 more days until my 30th birthday! Thanks for pointing that out…

Six weeks ago I told Jamally what I wanted for my birthday gift. I’m pragmatic and want to ensure I get a present I’ll love.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned, marriage is all about communicating your expectations. If I don’t communicate my birthday present requests, my expectations may not be met. I’m only doing this for the sake of our relationship.

Working from home means many days spent in comfortable clothing. But when your husband starts to call your sole Lululemon hoodie (as seen here) your ‘uniform’, it’s time for a wardrobe change.

Enter my birthday present request demand:

Birthday Present

It’s purple. It’s warm. It’s awesome.

Jamally was going to order it online for me, but since we’ll be near a Lululemon store on my birthday, I suggested we purchase it in person. Just in case I want to select another item.

I outlined this great idea to Jamally via MSN (yes, we still communicate via MSN, as it’s his work IM, too) today as well as a few other birthday demands.

Here’s the convo:

Cathy James says:
but you still have to get me something to open.

Cathy James says:
like a broom or something.

Jamally James says:
oh i see…..so you get 2 gifts

Cathy James says:
and a card
I’m 30

Jamally James says:
frig

Cathy James says:
and think of the loving present you got for your 30th

Jamally James says:
true….so I should get something I will resent for the rest of the winter?
like you and my time at the course!

Cathy James says:
Ha! Yes. Like a lifetime bottle of wine

Jamally James says:
ugh

Cathy James says:
*clicks glass*

Today’s Question: Do you outline what you’d like for your presents? Or do you love the thrill of a surprise?

5 Responses to “Picking out a Birthday Present”

  1. Terry Stewart October 17, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I made it very not subtle, that I am hoping for a land title in Scotland for a Christmas present…and the certificate that comes with it entitling me to the title of “Laird” or Lord! Sometimes with these types of present hopes, its better to be specific … it would not be the same if the land title was for say Ice Land, or Greece – fine choices, but no “Laird” title to go with it!
    Lord Darnley (TJS)

  2. Madeline October 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    Let’s start with the “uniform”. I used to have one of those. Not any more! I am a fashion plate going to work every day!

    Gifts? I don’t like the surprise because I have learned that my husband’s surprises are wayyyyyy off base. I would have to say, you and and I are on the same page on this one; I choose what I would like. Plus, a nice dinner out and perhaps a movie. Unless the movie is crappy, you can’t beat it!!

  3. Amy October 17, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    I think your question of the day should have been “Am I the only person in the entire world that still communicates via MSN?”

    *crickets*

Leave a Reply

