Our Living Room Reveal

25 Oct

It’s been a while since I displayed our living room! You know, ever since I became a crazy makeover wife.

It all started in the summer when I wanted a change of scenery in our home. Our white walls were enough to make anyone feel like they had been admitted. As opposed to switching around our decorations to accommodate the white walls, a friend suggested painting the walls. So we did.

I don’t have an actual ‘before’ photo as my camera decided to erase all contents from its memory card.

But you’ll remember how we decided on a colour:

Benjamin Moore Boardwalk:

Once we completed our paint job, it was time to put the room back together again.

Jamally has this beloved reclining chair that, although great, doesn’t match our room. I tried to put it in the corner:

P1000733

 

But Jamally told me: “Nobody puts Baby in a corner!”

Following a coffee table re-finishing job, new window treatments, and purchasing a rug that didn’t smell like the dog (for now), here’s our final product:

P1000832

P1000833

I do find the carpet a little matchy-matchy, but I think if a few accessories that ‘pop’ are brought into the room it will complement one another well.

New window treatments include Bamboo blinds and white curtains:

P1000825

And for the corner, a vase with ‘sticks’ as Jamally likes to call it:

P1000827

And a few personal touches, too. The coasters with a card written by my late aunt:

P1000830

 

As well as a framed photo of our family’s old barn in Westport. The frame is made of actually wood from the barn. A present from our uncle.

 

P1000831

And of course, the coffee table:

P1000824

It has wheels on it and has worked out well considering we eat every meal in the living room. I just need to purchase new handles.

I know this isn’t a designer’s dream living room, but I’m proud that it’s now a warm, welcoming room. Also, we did this, which is also satisfying.

I’m sure come springtime I’ll be jonesing for another room makeover. But for now, I’ll enjoy my dinner on the couch.

One Response to “Our Living Room Reveal”

  1. Madeline October 25, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    and…….you didn’t spend a ton of money!! I grade you with a 10!!

Leave a Reply

