It’s Me! Julia Roberts!

28 Oct

Jamally asked me this morning whether I’d do a birthday blog.

Writing a blog, at times, feels selfish and as though you’re that person at the party who only talks about numero uno.

So it feels odd to write a blog posting celebrating the day when cake is consumed and I’m reminded of the events of my birth date (My dad took a shower after my mom woke him up to tell him her water broke. I was born an hour later. Maybe it’s that HE’s reminded of the story).

Considering this blog is all about being on the Brink of 30, and now that I’m literally ON 30, it may be appropriate to say a few words. Though it still feels weird. But here goes.

Ahem.

“It’s meeee!! Julia Roberts!”

There’s an episode of The Family Guy where Julia Roberts comes on stage and says simply that, demonstrating how Julia Roberts is all about Julia Roberts.

(When you watch the video, you’ll see I’ve actually mis-quoted the scene. But you catch my drift).

That’s how I feel writing a birthday blog posting. Like Julia Roberts on The Family Guy.

But, wait! There’s a connection.

Julia Roberts and I share a birthday. Today she turns 44.

So while I may not want to shout out my celebrations – except, of course, for this morning when I jumped on Jamally (who was still in bed) following boot camp to open my card from him – we can celebrate everything Julia.

Happy Birthday, Julia! More importantly, thanks to those who have made my turning 30 a remarkable opportunity to reflect on why I should be grateful for getting older and getting the chance to share more moments with these special people.

The weekend celebrations include a trip to the big city to visit my brother as well as spend a brunch meeting up with a good friend. Cheers to that!

3 Responses to “It’s Me! Julia Roberts!”

  1. Dana October 28, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    Happy birthday! Hope year 30 is good to you.

  2. Amy October 28, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Happy birthday lady. XO

  3. Brianne Peters November 1, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    ahem…you meant “best” friend right:)? Hope you had a fabulous weekend. Loved the catch up….and the gravy.

Leave a Reply

